Food Please

Since starting this blog I have been trying to identify a theme for my blog – something with consistency and my friends have inspired me.  I have many friends who write about the WONDERFUL food that they make and also friends that write about the deals that they find online – they have inspired me.  I would like to combine these two worlds.

On Sundays I create recipes for the week and head to the grocery store.  My least favorite part of the week is that stupid grocery list. While writing my weekly grocery list, I wondered if others hated this task as well.  If so, I want to provide weekly recipes that are good for you, inexpensive, and yummy.  So weekly I will post my recipes and shopping list on this blog.  If you want to take a recipe – then go for it. I will also post resources that encourage good eating, but more importantly easy good eating.

This won’t be what I write about everyday, but weekly I’ll post my menu and grocery list in case  anyone needs any inspiration. Please any comments, advice or ideas are welcome. At the end of the week I’ll try to post reviews and pictures of the meals.

As a working woman being in the kitchen isn’t my highest priority, but eating out always contains more calories and is never as good as my own cooking. Any comments or tips would be appreciated!

This busy weeks recipe – we’ll see if we are home enough to actually make all the recipes.

Menu:

S- Angel Hair Pasta with Snow Peas, Shallots and Herbs

courtesy of Real Simple http://tinyurl.com/n9bu3g
* 12 ounces Angel Hair Pasta (3/4 box)
* 1 10-ounce package frozen peas (I replaced peas for fresh snow peas)
* 2 tablespoons olive oil
* 6 shallots, sliced
* kosher salt and black pepper
* 1/2 cup grated pecorino or Parmesan (2 ounces)
* 1/2 cup fresh flat-leaf parsley, chopped
* 1/4 cup fresh mint, chopped

Directions

1.  Cook the pasta according to the package directions, adding the peas during the last 2 minutes of cooking. Reserve 1/2 cup of the pasta water, drain, and return the pasta and peas to the pot.
2.  Meanwhile, heat the oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the shallots, 3/4 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper and cook, stirring occasionally, until soft, 3 to 4 minutes.
3. Toss the pasta and peas with the shallots, 1/4 cup of the cheese, and the reserved pasta water. Fold in the parsley and mint. Sprinkle with the remaining 1/4 cup of cheese and serve.

M- Jersey Mike’s     (going to sacrifice dinner for a night on the water with the boats)

T- Tomato Soup (courtesy of the Food Network –http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/michael-chiarello/homemade-tomato-soup-recipe/index.html)

Ingredients

* 1 (14-ounce) can chopped tomatoes (since it is tomato season fresh ones are very yummy)
* 3/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
* Salt and freshly ground black pepper
* 1 stalk celery, diced
* 1 small carrot, diced
* 1 yellow onion, diced
* 2 cloves garlic, minced
* 1 cup chicken broth
* 1 bay leaf
* 2 tablespoons butter
* 1/4 cup chopped fresh basil leaves
* 1/2 cup heavy cream, optional (I will replace this with skim milk for less calories)

Directions

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.

Strain the chopped canned tomatoes, reserving the juices, and spread onto a baking sheet, season with salt and pepper, to taste, drizzle with 1/4 cup of the olive oil and roast until caramelized, about 15 minutes. This gives it a great smokey flavor.

Meanwhile, in a saucepan, heat remaining olive oil over medium-low heat. Add the celery, carrot, onion and garlic, cook until softened, about 10 minutes. Add the roasted chopped canned tomatoes, reserved tomato juices, chicken broth, bay leaf and butter. Simmer until vegetables are very tender, about 15 to 20 minutes. Add basil and cream, if using. Puree with a hand held immersion blender until smooth. This is a very chunky tomato soup. If you want a smooth tomato soup strain into the desire soup bowl. This soup is fresh and delicious.

W- Sausage, Polenta, and Grilled Pinapple  (Sausage and polenta is my new favorite recipe inspired by my friend Blair)

I have spiced up this recipe a bit after going to Goin’ Goastal and having their LIFE CHANGING jalepeno polenta> This recipe below is courtesy of Recipe Czar- http://tinyurl.com/lw232w
Jalepeno Polenta
*   5 cups water or chicken stock
* 1 cup coarse-ground cornmeal
* 1 ear of corn, shucked or 1/2 cup frozen corn
* 1-2 jalapeno, seeded and minced
* 2 tablespoons butter
* 3/4-1 cup shredded monterey jack cheese
* 1 teaspoon kosher salt

Directions

1.
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.
2.
Whisk cornmeal into water, cook until cornmeal comes together and is creamy 5-10 minutes.
3.
Meanwhile prepare peppers, and grate cheese.
4.
Add corn, pepper, cheese, butter, and salt. Butter a small-medium baking dish.
5.
Pour polenta into baking dish and bake 30-45 minutes. Turn on broiler and broil until bubbly, 2 to 3 minutes.

Th- Eat Out     Lunch Thursday – Leftovers

F – Wings and celery   Lunch Friday – tortillini

S – Tortillini

Grocery List (I hope this contains everything needed)

Meat
Sausage
Chicken Wings

Other
Mayonaise
Chicken Stock
Yellow course- ground cornmeal
Popcorn
Gingerale
cereal
Tortilini
Olive Oil
Bay Leaf
Parsley
Mint

Vegetables
Jalepenos
Celery
Corn
1 pound Snow Peas
6 Shallots
pinapple
Strawberries
Yellow Onion
Carrot
Celery

Dairy
Milk
Butter
Monterrey Jack Cheese (I will just use whatever cheese I have on hand)
Parmesan

5 responses to “Food Please

  1. kris erickson

    The amount of planned you guys do impresses me. When I hungry I just grab whatever is closest. I find it hard to plan short-term goals. All my goals are long-term. My shortest-term food goal isL plan something for people to eat for my birthday.

  2. wow, you are ambitious with this post

    • Hey, Bill was part of my inspiration for this post and his amazing summer suppers – but he does it up right!

  3. Hey Jess: I have a facebook/twitter friend called “poor girl eats well” PGEW. I enjoy her recipes as well. You might get even more inspired!

    • Thanks Joy! I’ll check that out. I am always up for a new blog to follow especially with healthy foods.

Leave a Reply

