Update

Today, instead of a story I am going to post an update of my life. I like stories much more then updates, but this will have to do.

I am working at Cherokee High School right now as a 9th grade literature teacher for the next week. The realization that it is coming to an end is bittersweet.  I love the kids. I have a few classes that like to talk to me and ask me questions about my life – which is fun.  I don’t know if it is dangerous to share my personal life with my students, but it is what I do. It is just in my nature to be relational. I am sad to leave the kids, but excited about doing some easier work this summer.

I have been very lucky to find this job. I was out of school 3 months when I happened upon this job, but seeing a future in this particular position is very slim – which is VERY frustrating.

This summer I am working part time at Arrow ECS doing marketing.   I have had this job for 2 years and they have been very flexible with my time. For example while student teaching and teaching they have allowed me to work from home. In fact they let me have a laptop to work at home.  This sometimes means that after school I am working 6 more hours, but the gaurentee that I will have a job in the summer is priceless.  At Arrow ECS I started analyzing their numbers and clients in spreadsheets, but now I am doing some writing and editing and keeping up with their newsletter.
I feel like I am in a learning stage of my life. I am reading a book called The Well Educated Mind: The Guide to Classical Education which shows you study and reading techniques. My goal this summer is to start with the first novel: Don Quixote and move through the important novels through history. I’ll post my list as I finish. I also want to learn HTML, which my husband has offered to teach me and I also want to learn how to better use Excel. I’ll let you know how all that goes.

Anyway, I seem to have all these trades, but no full time job which is frustrating as hell. Honestly I have been struggling with this since I graduated. I met with a girl I graduated with and she has a full time job at Harrison High School.  I have done everything possible to get a job. Weekly I am sending out resumes and cover letters to principals and I automatically get a reply that they are not hiring. I am even on a “list” in Gwinnett county – a so-called short list. Still no calls.  So if I can figuratively beg on a blog – if you know of any full time openings in teaching or marketing let me know.

That is the update of my life right now. A little frustrating, but hopefully soon something full time will come along.

3 responses to “Update

  1. Love the update, keep your chin up, all of the frustration is for your good, even when it doesn’t feel like it.

    Can’t wait to hear more about your reading adventure into the classics.

    As for classical education, I think you know our take, I only wish I had been educated this way from the start instead of trying to “backwards educate,” which is a lot harder.

    Keep blogging, we’re reading!

  2. Thanks for the update! Something is bound to come your way! I’m hoping and praying you get a job you love for the fall.

  3. sorry jess. something will come your way, i just know it. i will help you roll all those principals houses that reject you…eh??

Leave a Reply

