You gotta let all that flavor out baby

Funny/Interesting stories from class:

I posted this on my status a few weeks ago. I asked my students to write a three paragraph essay: “If I had a million dollars.” Most of the students wrote typical responses that they would buy cars, and houses, or clothes, but one kid wrote “If I had a million dollars, I would buy a new teacher.” As he turned it in to me, I told he had to write it over again, because of course that is very disrespectful. Then he tried to fight me and said he would just change the answer. I would not allow this. He had to write it over again. He pouted. His final words to me for the day, “If I had a million dollars, I would still buy a new teacher.” Touche my friend.

I have some sweet kids who have started to warm up to me (a little). During the day I have to travel to a different room for one of my classes and as I was walking to that class with three large bags in my arms one of my students approached me. This student put his arm around me:
Student: “Mrs. Sykes, you know we are friends, but unfortunately there have been some rumors in our class about you.”
Jess: “Oh yea, well now I am worried. What are those rumors?”
Student: “The others, not me, but they don’t really like you, and I would like to work on that.”
Jess: “OK, well, I appreciate that. What do you think we can do about this conundrum?”
Student: “The whole problem seems to be about the research paper. Maybe we should just not do the research. I think that would fix this problem.”
Jess: “Well, I’ll work on that, but I think we are still going to have to do the research paper.”
Student: “Mrs. Sykes, I just can’t help you then. You’ll have to fix this problem by yourself.”
They hate me even more today.

As I was helping a student with a research paper today, they fell asleep while I was sitting right next to them. Seriously, how does that even happen? Awesome.

We use Chuck Norris jokes as daily grammar work.

My day is like pushing a large rock up a hill with 26 kids on the other side pushing me back down.

Well, like Randy Jackson says, I gotta let all that flavor out baby. Here it comes kiddos.

3 responses to “You gotta let all that flavor out baby

  1. Yay! I’m so excited you are blogging and that I finally found it. Teaching will never cease to give you fuel for your blog ; ) Love you and love it!

  2. Susanne the Librarian

    Sounds like you’re doing a great job, Jess! 🙂 Hang in there!

  3. I admire you, friend. Hang in there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

